The Perfect Birthday, part 3 of 3- Party time

I hope you have been enjoying the posts about all of my birthday celebrations! For my 18th mum encouraged me to have a big party, renting a local venue. I have not done this since I was a little kid so it was really exciting, and something different from the small intimate birthday parties I have grown accustomed to holding.

The party would take a loose Disney theme, I designed and drew a cake to be made by local bakery ‘Jon’s Cakes’ who can make vegan and kosher specialty cakes.

Tasted and looked fantastic!

We made the rest of the food ourselves, my sister Nicolette of ‘Archie and The Rug‘ made hummus and mock duck cucumber cups, mum made salsa and mini burgers, and I made Pizza Wheels, Rice and Butternut squash Salad, Cous Cous salad, Pea and Mint salad, Sweet Chilli Brocolli and Cashew salad and a Bean salad. There were also Indian snacks such as Onion Bhajis and Pakora, French Bread, Raw Buckwheat bread, Crisps, Bread sticks, Crudetes and a spectacular tropical fruit platter. You can find the recipes for the Hummus, Cucumber cups and Pizza Wheels on Nicolette’s blog- to veganise them I added violife original and cheezly italian style in place of cow cheese. To make the sweet chilli brocolli I simply mix raw cashew nuts, blanched brocolli and sweet chilli sauce, to make the pea salad I simply add my homemade mint sauce (whilst still hot) to frozen peas and shallots before leaving to defrost. I can provide the burger and rice and cous cous salad recipes on request as they are less simple.

For dessert I made 2 Disney chocolate fudge cakes with strawberry flavor icing decoration and chia seed sugar cookies, then we also had oreos, golden oreos, giant iced doughnuts and mini apple blackberry pies.

For decorating the venue, I made paper bunting from old Disney Classic storybooks which I picked up in charity shops for 20p each! and bought both personalised and non personalised disney banners on ebay. There were also lots of helium balloons. To dress the tables, we used both plastic dumbo and plain linen table covers, mickey mouse confetti (provided by our local disney store) and fairy lights.

 

The party was lots of fun and I loved spending time with all my family and friends together. Some lovely messages were written in the guest book which I bought from Paperchase- It will serve as a lovely memory.

Snow White Makeup from Sophie Woods at Colour Hair Studio Whitefield

There were also lots of amazing gifts and cards which I am very thankful for. The all vegan buffet went down a storm with omnivores and herbivores alike and the conversation and disco were both really enjoyable!

 

I hope you enjoyed hearing about my 18th, thanks to all of those who both attended and helped make it possible, for me to be a princess for the evening.

India x

Leave a Reply

