Vegan Eats and cheats on the high st-Las Iguanas

Recently I took my mum to a birthday meal at Las Iguanas, the place came highly recommended for their ‘vegan and vegetarian’ menu so I was keen to check it out!

Upon entering we requested the special menus and made our choices. My vegan starter was the Guacamole and nachos, good to note that you mix your own with fresh avocado so can leave out the lemon or chilli if you don’t like them! Portion was plentiful for sharing too.

PTDC0672

PTDC0663

Make your own Guacamole

PTDC0666

For my main I ordered the Bahia Moqueca but for me, this is where I became slightly disappointed as my dish, being a ‘vegan’ Bahia, didn’t have many of the items on the menu. I understand vegan options being vegetarian options with the cheese omitted but would you really expect Coconut Faro-fa sprinkles and Plantain fritter to be not available unless cooked in butter! It was quite disappointing  for an option being marked vegan but then getting modified to such an extent it didn’t resemble the description printed on the menu. I would have liked to be forewarned. So be warned that the vegan menu options are all just incomplete vegetarian options, if you are not used to veganising menu options independently then the menus might be a nice touch however I didn’t think it was worth the huge buzz on vegan forums.

PTDC0669

A creamy coconut based dish with pepper, root vegetables and hearts of palm

PTDC0670

Side of rice and green beans

Nonetheless the dish was delicious and filling and my omni and veggie dining companions also enjoyed their meals. If you like Mexican food then Las Iguanas is worth a visit. We were also very impressed with the service, cleanliness and waiting time whilst in Las Iguanas- always good to hear. Staff were polite and friendly and the birthday girl even got a cocktail on the house!

PTDC0668

cheesy vegetarian main #1

PTDC0675

Don’t get me wrong- the curry was delicious

PTDC0671

cheesy vegetarian main #2

We were very impressed with the service, cleanliness and waiting time whilst in Las Iguanas- always good to hear. Staff were polite and friendly and the birthday girl even got a cocktail on the house!

PTDC0667

Happy Birthday Mum!

Thanks for Reading, do you like Las Iguanas, comment your favorite dish if so!

India x

 

 

4 thoughts on “Vegan Eats and cheats on the high st-Las Iguanas

  1. I think maybe the staff and/or chef at your branch may be less sensible/flexible about being able to adapt menus than the one in Leicester because I’ve had the exact same main you ordered with the sprinkles and the plantain fritters! Unless the one in Leicester served me something buttery…but it didn’t taste like it.

    Like

      • Hmm. Did they actually speak the the chef, or was that just their opinion? I was pretty confident in the answers I got from staff that they’d checked thoroughly. Maybe it’s something that needs querying in writing. I might email them before I go if I ever go back (spoilt for choice in Leicester so don’t often visit).

        Like

      • checked in Chester branch and they also said the vegan version came without coconut farofa and plaintain, and that all plaintain including the ‘side’ of plaintain could not be veganised x

        – I had the sweet potato chilli the other day which is very nice too

        Like

Leave a Reply

