Z-arts Diary week 9/10

I did many different things these days including making digital screens for all of the future productions. Here are a few of the digital screens I made, there were 10 but these are a few of my favourites due to liking the colours I chose on these the most….

Slide8 Slide3 Slide1Slide7

I also worked on and adding links to the on-line brochure via Issu.

In the afternoon of the second day I got an opportunity to watch a presentation from a group that have been using one of Z-arts creative spaces to rehearse. I was really surprised at the quality of this performance so I needed to mention it! When I was told it was a group who had formed their own ‘Original Youth Musical’ ; I really did not expect it to be up to much.

However I was very surprised as I loved the small snippets of the show which I got to view. I was really happy to see the understanding of different artists from the young people, and how they demonstrated how they related to the different people they sung about. I especially loved the tribute to Oscar Wilde as I love his plays and visited his grave in Paris, I feel the song really explained his situation well to those who did not know that the playwright was jailed for homosexuality. Other songs I was treated to featured other artists such as Van Gough one of my favourite painters, another troubled soul. I really feel the young people made these figures relevant to their own stories ie- LGBT/Self Harm

The premise of the show is that a group of teens want to save a building which they use to do their theatre workshop so another song talked about architecture and how architects saw buildings as their art rather than brick and mortar. The songs were catchy and had a nice range, some of the melodies had a slight Stephen Soundheim-esque ring to them in my opinion. All the young people were very talented and you could tell they had been working really hard. If you would like to find out more about this project then here is a link to the blog for the musical- https://youcantdothatblog.wordpress.com/

That’s all for today as I feel I have been boring with listing some of the tasks I have done which have not been very interesting on here!, I have started keeping a personal record of all the jobs I have done for reference when giving feedback and I am keeping these posts to the slightly more interesting things.

See you soon, India

Leave a Reply

