Z-arts diary- Week 4

On my 4th day at Z-arts I did a variety of things. My morning was spent collaborating with a high school student who was spending her Work Experience at Z-arts, we were working on the Autumn Brochure for Z-arts. I could use the Summer brochure for inspiration and to learn the basic set-up that Z-arts follow when making brochures however there were a few problems with this- we had much less listings to put in the Summer Brochure, this along with the fact staff felt the brochure could have looked slightly better meant a slight change in format was required.

I was given 9 family entertainment event listings and their copies and image files to work with however only 2 pages to fit all the essential information from these events onto. Whereas in the old brochure only 2 listings featured on each page.


Next I uploaded some event listings and made copies for Film Club Screening Fantastic Mr Fox and Roald Dahl Day! As you can see there are lots of Roald Dahl events- there is also a Roald Dahl summer school and a screening of James and the Giant Peach! All this is to celebrate Roald Dahl Day which is the 13th of September (as this is the month he was born)

This is the copy I wrote for Roald Dahl Day-

‘September is Roald Dahl’s birth month and this year Z-arts will be celebrating Roald Dahl Day in a gloriumptious style! After a week of Roald Dahl themed activities for kids in August- it’s time for the whole family to celebrate together with fun filled day.

Come along for some splendiferous activities including games, arts and crafts and readings! you can even dress as your favourite characters- such as Charlie and Matilda as we,share poems from Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts and make characters from your favourite stories.We guarantee you will have a swishwiffingly scrumdiddlyumptious time! With an array of exciting things to do enter the mysterious and wacky world of Roald Dahl!’

As you can see I made sure to include some of that crazy language! I love Roald Dahl books as they always remind me of my childhood! They lend themselves excellently to the arts – the books make brilliant films, animations, puppetry and plays and the poems and verses can be used to music as well as spoken word. My favourite Roald Dahl book has to be Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and the Great Glass Elevator- with my favourite film adaptation being the 1971 ‘Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory’ starring Gene Wilder. Despite being a HUGE Johnny Depp fan I really despise the 2005 version!

During week 4 I also had a brief meeting with Zoe to discuss my Arts Award, I will blog about my progress in with this separately.

After Lunch I had to send a few emails to various contacts such as Manchester Musical Youth and filling in a spread sheet for a brochure of all the summer activities (July 22nd – Aug 31st) Then it was time to put up more of those photo permission sheets – This time for the performance of Monkey, I placed them in the Lobby where guests to the performance would notice them!

Thanks for reading!

India

Leave a Reply

